Nursery – Pollock

Name:  Jackson Pollock

Nationality:  American

Born:  1912

Died:  1956

Style:  Abstract Expressionism

Famous Pieces of Art:  Most renowned artworks include:  Blue Poles, The She Wolf, No 5, Mural, Convergence and The Deep.  His work can be seen New York's Museum of Modern Art, Tate London and the Guggenheim to name a few.



Top 100 Recommended Reads for Nursery


Nursery Learning


Early Years Foundation Stage Policy 

“Every child deserves the best possible start in life and the support that enables them to fulfil their potential. Children develop quickly in the early years and a child’s experiences between birth and age five have a major impact on their future life chances. A secure, safe and happy childhood is important in its own right. Good parenting and high quality early learning together provide the foundation children need to make the most of their abilities and talents as they grow up.“ (Statutory Framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage, March 2017)

Welcome to Early Years Video (please click)



Characteristics of Effective Learning

Playing and Exploring: Engagement

Through play our children explore and develop learning experiences, which help them make sense of the world. They practise and build up ideas, and learn how to control themselves and understand the need for rules. They have the opportunity to think creatively alongside other children as well as on their own. They communicate with others as they investigate and solve problems.


Active Learning: Motivation

Active learning occurs when children are motivated and interested. Children need to have some independence and control over their learning. As children develop their confidence, they learn to make decisions. It provides children with a sense of satisfaction as they take ownership of their learning.


Creating and Thinking Critically: Thinking

Children are given opportunity to be creative through all areas of learning. Adults support children’s thinking and help them to make connections by showing interest, offering encouragement, clarifying ideas and asking open-ended questions. Children access resources and activities independently to extend their learning.


Areas of Learning

The EYFS consists of seven areas of learning:


Prime areas

Specific areas

Personal, Social and Emotional Development


Communication and Language


Physical Development         

Understanding of the World


Expressive Arts and Design


All areas are delivered through a balance of adult led and child initiated activities. In each area there are ELGs that define the expectations for most children to reach by the end of the EYFS.